In recent times, the elderly have been taken to the care or nursing homes instead of being cared for by their families. There are some benefits and drawbacks in this tendency

Moving the old generations in the families into the nursing home is beneficial in some perspectives. Firstly, the elderly can receive better treatment and full-time care since the caretakers are professionally trained. Due to the hustle and bustle of the new society, the younger generations have little time and they cannot fully provide care for the older generations even though they completely acknowledge their responsibilities to the elderly. In care homes, the well-trained nurses will help the elderly at any time. Secondly, the young members are able to focus on their study and work. Looking after the elderly is a challenging task and requires an edifice of time and patience. As a result, the nursing home is one of the best options, not only supplying the old careful supervision from experienced staff but also giving the young time and space to efficiently finish their work and study. On the other hand, this trend displays some disadvantages. Although the care home can offer excellent caring and nursing, there are several nursing homes without any license which is likely to pose a threat to the old generations. The unlicensed care homes usually have low-quality equipment and facility and unskilled staff, againsting all the families’ expectations. It is highly possible that these poor conditions put their elderly into unwanted as well as unpleasant situations. Moreover, the tendency causes mere oblivion to the elderly. As some members have overused the nursing home option, they are mindless of and irresponsible to their old generations in the care home. It can make the elderly suffer from loneliness and some other mental health. In conclusion, putting the elderly in the nursing home is not a completely new trend and it offers family members upside and downside. However, they should consider this option based on their finance, time and social moral standards to make appropriate decisions.