A gap year is a period of time when a student takes a break from formal education and routine.

A gap year is a period of time when a student takes a break from formal education and routine. Nowadays, it is becoming an increasingly popular alternative for the majority of students to take a year off before pursuing their degree to spend time travelling or working. I believe that this is a good idea because it offers many favourable opportunities and practical experiences which will inevitably allow young people to learn more about themselves and what they really want to do in their future. In the following essay, I will discuss some compelling reasons for this view. First and foremost, the biggest advantage of taking sabbatical to explore the world is that students are able to increase their self awareness and expand their horizons through elements of cultural exchange. Going to a different country allows an individual to meet people from so many different backgrounds which improves one’s socialisation skills and forms friendships that will last a lifetime. For example, you might spend time with a host family and go on trips with local students. Such encounters will force you to have heightened awareness about your own behavior and your interactions with others. Thus, you come to a greater understanding and appreciation of the diversity of customs and traditions. It will also inspire your interest in current events and global affairs sparking your curiosity of the world. Besides, while staying abroad, you can learn a second or even a third language like French, Italian and even Spanish since you have to become socially integrated in the country you are gapping in to adapt to the change in environment. Furthermore, taking a gap year before embarking on a university experience helps to build your resume. Once you start schooling, you are held back from carrying out many activities like sporting, volunteering, work experience and even your hobbies which are all very important as employers tend to look past just a degree. Such essential activities prove to be a significant job opportunity tool to boost your confidence and independence. International travel shows potential supervisors you are not intimidated by unfamiliar or taxing environments. Internships relating to your career fields allow you to take sufficient time to learn and explore and take any aspect of study seriously. In conclusion, gap years are essential in shaping the character and trajectories of our young people which will easily help them get ahead in academia. Students need to have a clear plan on what they want to accomplish during that free time so that it is carried out in a productive manner, boosting one’s pursuit of dreams and passions. A broader perspective of life and a high degree of focus and maturity will help them fit just right in with clear goals to strive towards once they get enrolled.