In recent time, getting online or playing games on smartphones is becoming more popular among teenagers than reading books. Why is this case and what can be done to promote the reading habit of young people

Over a few decades, as the world is being filled with more and more modern technology, people especially teenagers are seen sticking to their smartphones, tablets, computers, … almost all the time. As a result, they gradually forget about reading books – an activity that used to be a habit of many people. In this essay, I will analyze about this issue and try to figure out what we can do to make young people read more. To begin with, young people through the past ten years spend a lot of time getting online since they are capable of doing several things on the internet, such as chatting with friends or playing games. They become addicted to the social media and always glue their eyes to the screen. According to a survey, teenagers use their phones 7 hours per day. Therefore, the development of technology and digital media is the main reason why mostly young people don't read books anymore. Some of them find reading tedious or are not patient enough to read a book. Then, how to evoke youngsters’ love of reading? I think their parents, who probably have the most influence on young people, may help. At the moment when the world has to suffer from Covid – 19 and many countries order their citizens to do social distancing, teenagers are having more and more time getting online. Because of that, when they use the internet, parents should encourage them to read books online since they are able to access anything easily in the digital media. Also, parents can set aside a reading time, maybe about 30 to 45 minutes for their children to read. If youngsters keep the habit of reading days by days, they will gradually be interested in reading. Moreover, after teens find reading fascinating, they possibly promote the activity to their friends; As a result, reading books will little by little become more young people’ hobby as it used to be. In conclusion, the huge improvements of technology in recent days is the main factor that lead to the problem that teenagers don’t read books anymore. Nevertheless, I believe the number of young people who reading will increase in the future if we apply efficiently some solutions are provided above.