In recent decades, playing computer games has become a popular activity for children of all ages. Many people claim that this hobby offers few benefits beyond entertainment or relaxation and may, in fact, be harmful to a child's development.

Playing computer games has become a contemporary trend as a leisure activity, which has a significant impact on the young generations. In spite of the fact that this hobby may be beneficial in some ways, it might have serious damage on children’s development. Regarding the advantages that playing games has brought about, it seems like this activity does improve children’s abilities. Firstly, games which demand for continuous communication are likely to encourage children to interact more with their teammates. Another positive effect is that this will enhance their critical thinking by forming tactics to address a problem. For instance, in a battlefield or team fight tactic match, when surrounded by enemies, teams have to put forward a suitable strategy in order to minimize the risk of member lost or how to eliminate as many players as possible. On the other hand, exposure to games in a long period of time may lead to unintended consequences. Firstly, this hobby when spent too much time in loops of matches is considered to be time-consuming, thus, children will procrastinate on their school works. As a result, their educational records are negatively affected. Another detrimental effect is that this will result in the sedentary lifestyle, which is led by a large number of children. In comparison to other activities, this seems to be the least physically demanding. Therefore, without insufficient exercise, children are more likely to prone to various health deteriorations such as obesity or even cardiovascular diseases. Having considered both sides, I think that playing computer games, a common means of entertainment, will improve children’s skill set for future use. However, I also believe that this hobby should involve parental guidance to ensure the comprehensive development of their children.