In recent days, poverty seems to be a pervasive problem all around the world. The causes and effects of poverty are often interrelated in such a way that one problem hardly ever occurs alone. This essay will discuss the negative consequences of poverty on society such as the rise in crime, the economic downturn and the hierarchical discrimination in society.

In recent days, poverty seems to be a pervasive problem all around the world. The causes and effects of poverty are often interrelated in such a way that one problem hardly ever occurs alone. This essay will discuss the negative consequences of poverty on society such as the rise in crime, the economic downturn and the hierarchical discrimination in society. In the first place, destitution can lead to crime increase. People living in run-down areas are not properly educated. Therefore, they can fall into social evils easily. According to the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) news, people are more likely to become criminals in poor areas. Another problem is the backward of economy. The poor people do not have enough money to pay for their living, they have no opportunity to expand production and business. Therefore, it impedes the economic development. Due to that insurmountable problem, the quality of products become worse, then trade between countries becomes more difficult. Finally, poverty can lead to the hierarchical discrimination in society. The impoverished people do not seem to be respected. They have to suffer from the indifference of the community. This can result in the gap between the poor and the wealthy people. It may cause disunity in society. As a result, they will become mentally unstable, refuse to strive and eventually become a burden of society. In conclusion, poverty causes a lot of harm to society such as the increase in crime, the recession of economy and the discrimination in the social hierarchy. Therefore, the government needs to have some policies to reduce poverty to improve the life of citizens.