In periods of economic crises, governments should support artists such as musicians, writers, and painters. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

There are many people, working in various sectors, who may be laid off during an economic downturn. Artisans are not an exception; therefore, some people hold the view that they are definitely eligible for the government’s support like everyone else and I agree with this for several reasons. To begin with, the government should be involved in this case in order to protect these talents from dying out. It is because unlike other careers, it may take years on end for artists to pursue art and acquire artistic competence, let alone the amount of training fee and effort. Yet, they are usually the first who are hit by splums. Secondly, although the field of art is not typically perceived as important/essential as others such as educators, healthcare workers, or business, its therapeutic effects on human’s well being cannot be underestimated. For example, listening to music can calm the mind, lift up the mood, and can even alleviate pain as well as anxiety. Or, immersing oneself in a work of art like a novel or a painting may be a way of escaping reality for a while and finding empathy with one’s own circumstances. In other words, artists and their works are indeed needed during a recession when many people will probably experience emotional turbulence, aside from other problems. However, others may argue that in the case of economic instability, the government should focus on rescuing those most essential sectors like business, healthcare, and maintaining social security. In my opinion, this is invalid as artists are also affected by the undesired situation and therefore deserve/are entitled an equal right to receive assistance. In conclusion, I believe that if there is a financial depression, the government’s assistance schemes should cover all the affected careers and there is no legitimate reason to exclude artists from this programme.