In past, people wear clothes that shows their culture. Nowadays people like to wear common clothes worldwide. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is an argument that in this fast paced world, many people nowadays prefer wearing clothes which are common worldwide. Whereas, in the past, people used to wear clothes that represented their culture. Both attire has their own significance which will be discussed in this essay, supported by my conclusion at the end. There was an era when people used to dress in their traditional clothes which represented their culture and customs. Behind this practice, their believe was to promote their culture, legacy and loyalty towards their tradition. Moreover, it gives a chance to local craftswomen to display their talents and art by weaving these ethnic dresses. Discontinuity of this trend will result in loss of cultural awareness and can pose a threat to existence of region’s culture. In this emerging world, globalization plays a very vital role in every sector. In the present, it is very evident that people are wearing common clothes instead of picking up traditional attire. I believe this change has led to many positive factors. First of all, there will be no discrimination and bias approach which can be taken against the person based on the tradition or custom due to personal disliking especially. Furthermore, it creates uniformity. The factor of uniformity in an organization, indeed, boosts up confidence and productivity. To illustrate this, Emirates Islamic bank imposes the rule for ladies to wear an Abaya, which creates equality, uniform decorum as well as highlights the national dress of the country, U. A. E. Common attire clothes generates a sense of work environment professionalism. Lastly, big brands like Mango, Zara, Adidas to name a few have set up stores worldwide and thus makes easily assessable for everyone. A big credit also goes to advertising campaigns For example, Lionel Messi endorses Adidas brand and thus boosts their sales. Whereas, very less traditional clothes outlets are found these days and not promoted significantly. To recapitulate, the positive development outweighs the negative one as I have outlined above. Norm of common clothes create modern environment. As a consequence, local clothes market suffers a treat of further existence.