In order to study at university, students are required to pay expensive tuition fees. Not all students can afford them, so some people think that university education should be free for everyone.

Education is an essential ingredient in order to succeed in life. However, owing to the exorbitant fees being charged, getting enrolled in a university is not affordable for every student. Some people have the opinion that in order to provide access to quality education for everyone, universities should not charge tuition fees. I firmly agree with the said viewpoint as I believe that providing free education will bring various social and economic benefits, which will be illustrated in this essay. Firstly, the major advantage of having free education for everyone will be that more people particularly those who belong to a financially challenged background will be given an opportunity to get higher education. It is no secret that many students despite their ability and urge to get higher education could not get enrolled in universities due to unreasonably high tuition fees, which they are unable to afford. This coerces them to work in the informal sector where often they are paid low wages, which affects the quality of living. By providing free university education, underprivileged and marginalized segments of society will be encouraged to pursue their higher studies. What is more, it is a well-known fact that developed countries often lay emphasis on free education for their citizens as this will help improve the economy of their countries. In other words, having a majority of educated and skilled people will give rise to productivity and creativity, which will draw foreign investments. Hence, more employment opportunities will be generated for individuals. Another advantage -when there will be no requirement of tuition fees to be paid- is that the factor of inequality and disparity will greatly decrease. People regardless of their financial status or background will have access to equal facilities in terms of education. In conclusion, the idea of providing free university education to everyone is born of positive intent and could bring in its wake various benefits, which would help reduce factors such as disparity and provide equal learning opportunities to everyone.