In order to solve traffic problems, government should tax private car owners heavily and use their money to improve public transport. What are the advantages of such solutions?

Traffic congestion in many cities around the world is getting worst due to more private cars used. Therefore, many believe that the government should increase taxes for those who own a private car and use the money for public transport improvement. This essay will discuss the positive and negative side in details. Increasing taxes which car owner must pay would have positive effect for everyone. The heavy taxes would discourage car owners from using their cars because it would become expensive to drive and they begin to use public transportation instead. However, it can reduce traffic problems and pollution as well. For example, people in Indonesia prefer to use private car to commute due to efficiency and convenience than using public transport although travel by car take more time because of traffic congestion occurred everywhere. On the other hand, taxing private vehicles heavily bring negative effects for society. People who lived in area which are not covered by proper public transport such as those who lived in rural area need to change mode of public transport because the route might not pass through that area. Hence, private car considered as the best option and if the tax raised significantly it will lead another problem for them. For example, people in Indonesia prefer to use private accommodation due to unavailable public transportation which pass their area, thus car chosen as the most convenient mode of transport. In conclusion, charging private car owners heavily has its own benefits and drawbacks. People could travel with public transportation and reduce the traffic congestion. However, people who lived in uncovered proper mass transport would experience a big problem.