In no more than 40 minutes, write an essay of at least 250 words about the following topic. In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays, people store knowledge on the internet. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Compared to the method of storing knowledge in paper books in the past, people tend to keep their knowledge on the Internet in today's society. From my perspective, although storing information on the Internet has some drawbacks, the advantages absolutely outweigh its disadvantages. On the one hand, I believe that using the Internet to keep information brings some drawbacks. Internet users might access inaccurate knowledge from the Internet. There are tons of sources of information; however, some of them are not carefully prescribed. As a result, readers have difficulties in distinguishing between true and false information. Moreover, privacy plagiarism is another problem. A lot of free information sources including electronic books, podcasts, videos and even audios are uploaded without the author's agreement. People extremely love using and sharing gifts like those mentioned above despite the fact that it is an illegal activity. Those unlawful sources have caused a great loss for the publishing industry. On the other hand, the Internet brings a new and innovative way for modern citizens to store their knowledge. First of all, it is a great storage for people to keep whatever they think is useful for their work and study. Thanks to the latest technology, smart devices allow users to store their information online without paying a lot of money. Besides, the Internet also helps enjoyers keep their documents and files for a longer time compared to the method in the past. For example, a book can only be used for about fifty years since its paper will be damaged severely due to the attack of animals or effects of the environment. Second, the Internet lets people access different forms of information. Not only documents can be kept, but also digital forms like pictures, videos, audios and the like. Students and even working people can review their knowledge in different ways which are far more creative and convenient. Additionally, there are various topics available online; therefore, Internet users can make use of it to widen their knowledge into different fields. Information from gardening to medical articles can be found just with the click of a mouse. All in all, storing and finding information from the Internet is far more beneficial than reading books. With the new era of technology, people should be more careful when they access the Internet to utilize its advantages.