In nearly all science courses at university, there are significantly more male students than female students. What is the reason for this? What could be done to balance out the numbers?

The science is a widely taught area of studies in almost all the universities of the world. It is considered that there are considerably a higher number of men students than female learners in scientific studies. This assertion has a cause and also a solution this essay will discuss. On the one hand, the major reason behind the above trend is that scientific studies are highly logical and tough. It is widely thought that males can learn them easily as compared to women since science subjects such as biology, physics, chemistry, and mathematics require more intelligent minds to acquire them, which is said to be fulfil well by male learner than female, owing to their better cognitive skills. In other words, girls may not possess the ability to excel in science subjects, thereby account for less number of admissions they have in tertiary education. A study by Oxford University, for instance, showed that the percentage of male learners in science related courses is 50% higher in different universities in the USA, because of the difficulty level of these subjects, which could not be handled by female students. On the other hand, to resolve this issue and equalize the numbers of male and female students in scientific studies, schools should encourage females to adopt to learn the scientific learning from the very childhood. It is evident from different studies that due to the disencouragment of taking science subjects from adolescent age, parents hindered the skills and the learning of females in science subjects. If learning institutes support girls to opt for tough subjects such as science related learning, they would be able to foster their skills and become recognizable in science area. This, in turn, would results in the adequate number of females taking scientific courses in the tertiary education in the future. Research by the World Education Institute, for example, revealed that children who are encouraged to opt for science subjects, despite their poor performance in it initially, become proficient in it when reached to the higher education learning stage. In conclusion, it is believed that the ratio of male students in science subjects is enormously more than female students. The reason of this trend id that science is a tough area and males have the mental level to learn it; however, the solution of this problem is to encourage females from early age to learn science subjects.