In nearly all science courses at university, there are significantly more male students than female students. What is the reason for this? What could be done to balance out the numbers?

In the recent era, numerous people opt for science courses at higher level, because of its potential and better job prospects. However, it has been seen that the science stream is mostly dominated by the men as compared to the women. In this, I will discuss the reasons and corrective actions to maintain a proper balance. First of all, the majority of female students want to study subjects related to fashion, arts and history, as these courses are very easy to comprehend as compared to science subjects, which are quite complex. Secondly, less number of study hours are required to pass the exams and get a university degree in comparison to physics and chemistry. Furthermore, females are more tempted towards glamorous world, they want to become like supermodels which is also one of the reasons for the decline in the number of girl students choosing science subjects. For Instance, in a recent survey in India, it has been observed that the majority of girl students after their graduation are opting for courses related to journalism and fashion industry There are many ways by which female students can be encouraged towards subjects like mathematics, physics and chemistry. Government should run some awareness programmes to educate girls about the role of science in our daily life and how they can be more successful in their with the application of science. They should propel them towards science by citing example of Madam Querie who invented Radium so that get inspiration To conclude, the women plays an imperative role in the development of the society and should be encouraged towards technology courses to maintain a proper ratio of male and female students by letting them know the vast amount of benefits associated with this field.