In most parts of the world people are living longer. Is this a negative or positive development?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the topic of people's lifespan. Whether the phenomenon that life span of people has increased significantly leaves advantages or detrimental impacts has drawn much attention from the public. In my opinion, this could be seen as a negative problem. To begin with, two benefits that can be mentioned are family life and labor resources. Firstly, from an individual level, longer life allows old people/ senior citizens to help old people can spend more time with their family. For example, in some extended families, old people have the responsibilities to look after their grandchildren after retirement. This means that they will be more attached to their family. Secondly, some people continue to word even when they are allowed to retire, which has contributed greatly to the economics of businesses. Some employers prefer to hire older people than younger employees because most older employees are willing to take lower wages to get the jobs they want. However, the positive effects given above can be considered from the opposite angle. Indeed, most of the elderly suffer from diseases such as heart disease or bone problems, they are unable to support their families financially or even with small household chores. This will be a big obstacle for families with financial difficulties. For society, the aging of the population can cause a shortage of labor resources that require young people such as information technology or services. In conclusion, although it has become more popular with increasing life expectancy over the world, it has brought about too many problems for this to be considered a positive trend.