Climate change is causing a rise in natural disasters around the world. Write a report outlining the problems caused by a natural disaster (e. g. flooding) that occurs in your country. Suggest short- and long-term solutions to address these issues. " (describing problems and suggesting solutions)

Nowadays, climate change has a severe impact on the world due to its effect of rising natural disasters. Vietnam is also being affected and dealing with several floods each year. As a result, thousands of citizens lost their lives and the country has trouble enhancing the economy. This essay will discuss the hazadous consequences of this extreme weather event and bring out some short-term solutions along with long-term solutions to solve these issues. According to a survey, floods lead to destruction in many aspects. Many buildings and structures are badly destroyed because of the heavy flow of water. In addition, Vietnam agriculture is badly affected and this results in the poverty of farmers and the shortage of food provision. Moreover, a huge number of citizens are threatened with loss of their lives every year because of floods. Consequently, governments have to invest great amounts of money in order to help the residents and recover the construction. Therefore, several methods have been applied to fix the problem. There are various effective short-term solutions to stop the dangerous flood. Sandbagging is a good option because it does not require much payment and is easy to build quickly when the disaster comes. However, this method seems to be useless when a heavy flood occurs due to the fact that the flow of water will sweep these bags or devastate them. Another practical solution is building early warning systems. It is essential to provide warnings for citizens so that they can have plans soon in order to move to a higher place or stay away from the dangerous area. In the long term, constructing dams is effective due to the ability to control the flow of water. As a result, the water level can not rise considerably and damage surrounding objects. Although the cost is really expensive, it will not matter because of the long-term benefit. The next useful method is planting trees to make a natural barrier to decrease the speed of the flow. For example, the roots and branches of trees can hold back or even absorb the water. Nevertheless, it takes a long time for the trees to grow and keep the plants safe from poachers. In conclusion, it is impossible to completely prevent natural disasters but we can use several methods to reduce the risk of negative effects. In my opinion, although the consequences of climate change may rise in the future, people will still have measures to cope with them.