In most cultures, people are taught to respect the elderly. Is it important to respect the elderly? How does one demonstrate respect to the elderly? Be specific and give concrete examples in your response.

In a big number of countries, the majority of people are taught to show respect to the older generations. This is something really significant and can be shown in a lot of ways some of which are going to be mentioned below. To begin with, respecting the elderly is of a high importance because they are the ones that raised and educated us. This means that they already have sacrificed a lot in order for us to become successful adults and one of the minimal things that we could do is appreciate them. Beside this we need to maintain this kind of behaviour around them because they always were beside us during difficult times so we could feel at ease again and get a hold of ourselves. No matter how you see it they have done a great deal of things for us so respecting them is a must. Obviously, there are a lot of ways to show your respect one of which is to help them do things they are not able to do any more like lifting heavy objects. We could also provide them with food and medicine when necessary just like they did for us when we were young to show them that we appreciate what they have done throughout all these years. And last but not least, is to make sure when we don’t see them to call them so they can; t feel loved and that there are people that care for them. In conclusion, respecting elderly should be a characteristic of every young person; s personality for a lot of reasons and there are also plenty ways to accomplish this. Fortunately this kind of behaviour is being adopted by more and more individuals leading to a reassuring future.