What are the advantages and the disadvantages of homeschooling?

Given the fact that parents and students alike are growing more and more dissatisfied with the quality of education offered by public schools, it is not surprising that the trend of homeschooling is gaining popularity. What started out as the only way to educate children living in remote areas seems to be the ideal method for any student who wants to enjoy the benefits of a high-quality, personalized education. To begin with, being home schooled offers the unique opportunity to study subjects tailored to each student's needs. This means that the child's interests and inclinations are taken into account in the designing of the individual curriculum. A child who has exhibited great talent for music, for example, can thus begin to specialize at a very young age, without wasting time on subjects that may be useless in the future. Moreover, being educated at home offers greater flexibility as far as a daily schedule and study time are concerned. We all know that on some days a child may be more motivated to study than on others. Homeschooling allows for schedule adjustments, insofar as a certain number of hour of study are completed every week. Last, but not least, studying at home often translates into saving valuable time by not going to school and back every day. Given the fact that many children live in the suburbs or in remote areas, being homeschooled gives them the opportunity to employ this time in a more constructive manner. All things considered, it seems to me that homeschooling is a highly advantageous alternative to conventional public school education, and that children should be entitled to choose the educational method that suits them best.