In modern times, young adult are spending less time with their families and more time with their friends. Why has this change occurred? Do you think parents should force their children to spend more time at home?

It is argued that at present many juveniles prefer to spend more time with their peers than their parents. The main reason for this trend is the age gap, and I do not think that mothers and fathers should compel their children to spend more time at home because it can develop a sense of resentment amongst children. When children reach their adolescence, their thinking and preferences often change. Consequently, they and their parents fail to agree upon most things. They may feel that their guardians are old-fashioned and do not share any common interest with them. As a result, they find it boring to spend time with them and instead choose to hang out with their friends because they may share various common likes. Additionally, a few young people reside in hostels with their friends while studying in universities away from their parents, and sometimes, they may become used to spending all the time with their roommates. As a result, they do not give much preference to be at home. If children are enforced to spend more time at home, this practice can create bitterness in their minds against their parents. This is because many young people do not like to be controlled and forced to listen to edifications by their elders. If they are restrained, it may result in them becoming ill- mannered. For example, studies have shown that children who are grounded by their parents are more likely to show unpredictable / aggressive behaviour. However, parents can engage themselves in some kind of activities that their children like such as watching their favourite TV shows with them to motivate them to spend time at home. In conclusion, many young adults choose to spend less time with their families because of age difference and uncommon preferences / interests. I believe that youngsters should not be made to spend more time at home because they can develop disruptive behaviour.