In modern society, the preference for a career is changing from working for a company to being self-employed

In modern society, the preference for a career is changing from working for a company to being self-employed. While the underlying reason for this situation might be the freedom one will have if self-employed, I believe this kind of employment can cause numerous problems. Admittedly, working under no regulation from a company or organization could provide freedom in management and a flexible schedule. One who works on his own can make any decisions such as the types of customers, workplace location, or the costs of products. This might be impossible if he or she works for an organization, as all decisions must be approved by the one with higher power and status. Moreover, the self-employed would not have to follow a fixed working hour due to the absence of rules and disciplines that regulate their schedules. For these reasons, more and more people are turning into self-employed. Despite the attractive benefits self-employment can offer, there are still numerous demerits that people would suffer if self-employed. The first and the most obvious problem is finance. Usually, starting a business and developing it to be profitable and sustainable would cost a massive amount of money. Therefore, the self-employed might have a lower rate of being successful in their start-up. Besides, people who work for themselves would encounter more difficulties in expanding their business due to the lack of relationships and reputations. In conclusion, the fact that more people are choosing to be self-employed stems from the independence and flexibility they may have if not working for any organization. However, it would take the self-employed a lot more effort to thrive in their business.