• In many societies people re-enter prison for crimes committed upon being released. What are the main reasons why they re-offend and what are the solutions for their rehabilitation?

Prisons are considered to be an important part of the modern world as it helps to impart discipline into individuals who have committed a crime while living in a society. However, it has been observed that a few people re-enter the prison for committing crimes. This essay will discuss main reasons why these people re-offend as well as the possible solutions which can restrict them from committing crimes. The reason these people commit crime after being released is due to limited number of opportunities available to earn their livelihood. This is simple because of lack of faith and the fear of being attacked by them. Many companies, for instance, do not hire an individual who have committed a crime in the past. In addition, those who spend decades in the prison find themselves unfit to live in society due to lack of psychological help. And, eventually, they end up committing crime either to get back to prison or to earn their bread and butter. However, to restrict the number of people re-entering the jail, one to one psychological assistance should be provided to the individuals well before their release into the real world. This will help them in preparing themselves for the life outside prison. Countries like Finland and Norway, for instance, provides a similar service to the prisoners. It had contributed significantly in bringing down the number of people re-committing crimes in these countries. . In addition, the prisoners should be equipped with a vocational skill in the prison so that they can earn their livelihood once they are out. To conclude, limited job opportunities and the power to deal with the outside world forces people to re-commit crime after being released. However, psychological assistance along with vocational training could help in their smooth transition.