More and more measures to improve the security in large urban areas have been introduced in many countries because of the increased crime. Do the benefits of these measures outweigh the drawbacks?

It is an irrefutable fact that the crime rate in urban areas is increasing exponentially, nowadays. Although the installation of security devices is both time-consuming and expensive process, these will definitely be beneficial in reducing the crime rate. In my opinion, the rate at which the crime rate will deplete, clearly outnumbers the costs, and time incurred in the installation of safety equipments. The major benefits of improving security services in urban areas are the reduction in the crime rate, and generating a sense of fear amongst thieves; so, that they think twice before committing any false deed. In other words, this will not only reduce the confidence of culprits but will also break their notion of not getting caught easily. For example, in a recent survey, in India, it was found that the trivial thefts like chain snatching, shoplifting and more, were decreased by a significant rate, when CCTV cameras were installed on the busy streets and shopping malls. Hence, these merits help in creating a peaceful environment. The basic challenges that the government face are the time, and money spent on making the urban areas feel safe and secure for people. Undoubtedly, purchasing and fixing a large amount of security equipments in the large urban areas of the country consumes a lot of resources. Moreover, it is not easy to equipt all accident-prone areas with these machines. To illustrate, in China, higher authorities invested around 65% of the total allocated budget of security funds in buying security cameras and machinery. Oftentimes, the costs of investing in security devices is a way too high. In conclusion, in today's self-centered world, the government is stepping forward and taking initiates to curb with this increased crime. While the security measures taken by the authorities is a time taking and cost-inefficient process, the benefit it brings in reducing the crime rate by a higher rate is worth investing. Clearly, the advantages of preventing the thefts to occur in the first place are more beneficial than its basic disadvantages.