In many places, new homes are needed, but only space available for building them is in the country side. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What your opinion about this with example?

Although the demand for housing is increasing, there is no open space available for their construction except in the rural areas. However, some people argue that the places should be protected from these activity. I disagree with them. In my opinion, it is important to build homes on the outskirts of cities. First and foremost, cities have become over crowded due to urbanization and free space is only available in the side areas. More and more people are migrating to cities for a better future and hence the space available for construction has already been used. To meet this demand for land, people are turning to the countryside. Many customers also want to buy homes in the countryside because they are more affordable. Also, pollution is not really an issue in rural areas. Hence, people opting to live in the countryside can buy spacious homes built amidst natural greenery. In addition to this, if the construction is done in the areas away from the city we can reduce the negative effects of urbanization. Due to overcrowding in cities, people face not only traffic congestion but also pollution. For example, in a South Indian city, a 40% improvement in air quality was observed after they started building homes in the peripheral areas of the city instead of in the centre. Thus, to improve the quality of life in the urban area it is a better solution. In conclusion, as the population is continually moving to cities for better prospects, there is a simultaneous increase in the demand for shelters. Therefore, the countryside can be utilised for this purpose and to curb the effects of overcrowding in cities.