In many parts of the world, people spend much time to research family history, some say that this has lots of benefits, while others believe that we should focus on the present and future generations.

It is common for most people around the globe to invest a significant amout of time to learn about their family. Millions of people spend hundreds of dollars for genetic tests to learn about their ansectory while the world faces many challenges for the survival of the human species. Therefore, evaluating the effective use of time dedicated to family studies is important. Certain benefits of investing time into learning one's lineage are setting foundations to motivate achievment and discovering knowledge to negative illness. On the contrary, taking time to care for current and future generational needs, fosters capable adults to tackle the problems of society; I tend to support this latter belief. When a person knows more about their roots, they can feel proud in their effort to achieve greater goals than their forefathers. If a person discovers that there are several renowned intellectual up and down their family tree, like lawyers and doctors, they too may feel empowered for postgraduate studies to maintain tradition. In additon, knowledge of one's ethnicity may shed light on potential health concerns. Further to this, an individual can also come to learn that there is a high incidence of heart disease in the family, so they can avoid serious issues, like heart attacks, by going for regular check-ups and eating a healthy diet. These are both true in my case, as my father and grandfather were both doctors and this encouraged me to earn a doctorate degree in psychology. Also, there is a high accurence of heart-disease in my family so I go for regular annual visits to the doctors office. Certainly, these are clear benefits to learning about one's history, but they are worthless without being able to preserve and bulid the future.