What are the advantages and disadvantages of mobile phones?

Cell phones became an invention that would eventually change how we think about communication. Instead of being tied to a landline that required a direct connection or even operator control, Martin Cooper gave us the ability to carry a device with us that allowed for instant communication. He wanted everyone to have the chance to speak with someone without being tied to something. Now we have smartphones that have more technology in them than the spacecraft that we sent to the moon 50 years ago. Cellular concepts have helped us to create significant improvements to communication and information access in almost every corner of the world. It took more than a decade for the first phones to reach the market, but now there are new models coming out every year from some manufacturers. A majority of people in the developed world already own a cell phone, so the advantages and disadvantages of this technology are more for those looking into ownership for the first time or reviewing the history of this invention.