In many nations more and more shops are open for long hours. Is this a positive or negative development for the shoppers and local community.

In various countries, increasing number of stores are now opening for longer hours than before. In my opinion, this is a welcoming trend as buyers will shop at a low cost while the immediate community will grow economically. There are countless reasons why shops are opened for longer hours. Firstly, it gives the consumers the opportunity to purchase goods at an affordable price. This is because, lots of malls are accessible at every point in time so there would be no need for sellers to hike the price of their products which they often do when there is no competing store around. Secondly, this development will be convenient for working class shoppers as some people actually spend a lot of hours in their offices. However, with many malls available during their closing hour, they will still do their shopping freely. Furthermore, local community would be able to improve their income. Because of the rising demand of goods from costumers, shop owners are now making more sales all year round. For example, it was reported in AIT news last year that the economic growth in Enugu State in Nigeria rose by 15%. This was attributed to the fact that shopping were made for almost 18 hours daily. As a result, local sellers can now boast of a reasonable amount of money in their account. In conclusion, opening malls for longer hours in many nations not only give the shoppers a chance yo shop at their convenient time and at a low cost but also improve the economy of the local community. Therefore, it is imperative that other countries adopt this development in order to enjoy the benefits associated with it as well.