More people decided to have children at late age nowadays than on the past. Does the advantage of these outweigh the disadvantage.

People prefer becoming parents at older age nowadays than ever before. There have been polarised views, whether its benefits outweigh the drawbacks. In my opinion, it has more demerits than merits. Late parenthood is froth with lots of disadvantages. Firstly, fathers and mothers who are elderly whereas their children are still little encounter difficulties catering for and bringing them up. This is because at late middle age to old age, the body is degenerating and becoming weaker. These parents are unable to hustle to make money for their children's education. They also lack strength to discipline their children when necessary. A good example is my neighbour and wife, who started having babies in their middle fiftys. At 70 years the first son was just entering secondary school. It was difficult for them to combine age related illnesses and fending for their children. As a result, these children grew as if they had no parents. They were not disciplined and ended up criminals. Another downside to it is the fact that most children of geriatric parents become orphans pretty early in their childhood. In fact studies by social workers showed that 80% of children in the orphanage are born of parents who started having babies at their late middle age. These elderly parents die from natural course of aging, leaving their little children behind. These and lots more are the disadvantages of late parenthood. In conclusion, though it is becoming a more popular decision among people to have children in later age, it is not a good idea because it has lots of negatives far more than the positives