Computers have a more positive impact than a negative impact on today's generation. Express your opinion on the same

With the advancement of technology and the era of internet, computers have become an increasingly important resource to access information. Although, a few people believe that computers are having a negative impact on today's generation, I strongly believe that the benefits of computers today over-ride its undesirable effects. A research conducted by Harvard University professionals suggests that the use of computers in educational institutions has enhanced childrens' knowledge by 30% as compared to the past decade. For example, affluent young and qualified individuals in the field of information technology have used computers for advancement in various areas, one of which is artificial intelligence. The piece of code, written on these machines, has not only led to the invention of robots but has also given rise to self- driven cars. The social media websites which have made the world a smaller place to live in are accessible on laptops, computers and other such mobile devices. Let us consider the scenario of communication overseas which has become possible in a matter of minutes via social networking. However, one cannot deny that in spite of being an extremely useful gadget for mankind, excess use of computers has led to deteriorating effects on humans. Not only has it affected the eyesight of people, but it has also had devastating impacts on their mental health and well- being. I myself have had a cousin, who has gone through depression because of long hours spent on the computer and reduced human interaction. Overabundance of computer usage is proven to make a person lazy and less productive. Children, today, may spend long hours playing computer games which affects their eyesight as well as productivity. This can be well understood by comparing a child who spends long hours of his day programming and the one who spends a massive amount of time playing games or watching movies. I would like to conclude by stating that the way we use computers in a day to day life decides whether it is a boon or a bane for mankind. The choice is ours to make.