Some people think that coins and paper money will vanish in a few years. We will only use plastic cards or some other form of electronic currency. Is this a positive or negative development?

The advances in modern technology allow us to modify or change the funds' systems used for trade. While many individuals believe in complete disappearance of coin and notes in future and are ready to welcome alternate options such as plastic cards or electronic currency, I strongly argue against this trend because; not all individuals are well versed with electronic transactions and also, coins and paper are environment-friendly. It is indeed difficult to cope up with the loss of the current currency system in the coming years. This is because not all people are educated enough to understand an online transaction method. For instance, the older and illiterate people might need the help of others to carry out a simple payment. As a consequence, this can lead to an elevated rate of cyber crimes. Furthermore, an electronic currency that will require the Internet connection, advance mobiles, which poor people cannot afford, can create a problem. Another reason I feel plastic cards shouldn’t be considered as currency in the coming time is that they are not environment-friendly. Production of a huge lot plastic card will require an enormous amount of the same to be made which can put an extra burden on the surroundings. To explain, we can easily recycle the paper notes and melt the metals to form other coins but recycled plastic cannot again be used to make the same cards. As discussed above, I stand firm with my opinion that states use of the plastic cards or an electronic currency in the future and obsoleting current notes and coins is a negative development since it can create difficulties for poor, illiterate and elderly people and also, add burden on the environment.