In the past, two decades, crime has been on the rise. To prevent further increase, criminals should be sentenced longer period of prison time. However, some people say there are alternative ways to control cr

Number of criminals in Thailand has been increase significantly compare to the past. People who commit crimes that are locked up in prison sometimes get an excuse for release. It is suggested that longer period of jail-time can decrease crimes while some still think that other punishments should be used. Criminals who commit serious crimes in Thailand such as raping, stealing or amusing will be locked up in jail. However, if these people pay bail, they will be released or if worst case, they will be offered a less time in jail. This causes an unconscious mind to criminals and they might repeat the crime again. Hence, some people think that longer period of prison-time can leads to reduce of criminals as it builds conscious in criminal’s consideration which means they will think more carefully before they act. Nevertheless, another group of people disagree to this opinion. They suggested that plenty other ways can be use to reduce crimes. One ways is that, Thai’s government should add stricter law for criminals such as not excepting bails and make criminals do voluntary works for example, treating older people, this will make criminal knows how difficult others live and also criminals will feel guiltier and thinking that getting away with crimes is not as easy as they think. To conclude, both longer time in jail and stricter law are effective in declining crimes in Thailand. Though, in my opinion, government should be more serious with criminal law so that crimes can be decrease immediately.