In many nations, it is becoming mandatory to receive vaccinations in order to prevent the spread of disease. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Many countries across the world are making vaccinations compulsory in order to curb the spread of diseases. I believe this is a positive development because vaccines can help reduce the fatality rate, and governments can also save money, which is spent on curing diseases. Vaccines help in reducing the mortality rate among people. That is to say; If people get themselves vaccinated against certain life-threatening diseases, they can no longer be infected by these diseases, keeping them safe. In addition, when more people get vaccinated, they are also at a reduced risk of getting infected by diseases that transfer from one person to another, reducing the widespread of these diseases. For example, in India, after making vaccine for measles mandatory, the nation has experienced a decline in the death rates caused by this disease. Furthermore, vaccinations can help governments save a huge amount of money. Because, If governments force their citizens to get vaccinated beforehand, then they can save a huge amount of budget spent on curing these diseases by already preventing them. As the government already invests money on the research and development of these vaccines, spending additional amount to help cure same diseases can put a strain on the government’s budget. For example, after polio vaccines were made mandatory in India, the Indian government was able to cut down a significant amount of money, which otherwise was spent in order to provide required medical care for people infected by Polio. To conclude, as vaccination help reduce the fatality rate among the people, and in addition, helps the government save money, which otherwise is spent on curing these diseases, I believe that vaccinations being made compulsory is a positive development.