In many major cities of the world, you will find large public buildings, both new and old. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of such buildings.

Many large public buildings both old and new are gradually constructed in major cities of the world. This brings the city a new typical face and creates its own features as well as affects state policies and other public services. The following passages will discuss the positive and negative effects on this area. Such old buildings as museums, exhibits or ancient houses provide historical value for the city to attract more visitors. Besides, this contributes a large amount of money from operation activities to the government budget for authorities to maintain and improve the buildings’ quality. For instance, the Old Quarter is a very attractive destination. It is popular for each typical product of each ward and it includes many old houses from the previous century. Moreover, In new buildings, the company can rent a floor and do business such as a mall, movie theatre or set up indoor entertainment centres to make revenue. These advantages become a city’s characters, a mark and a place that people would like to gather. In contrast, the building construction occupies a large area of the city whereas not all floors of a building are made use potentially. The available housing becomes scarce if these buildings increase over time, residents have no region to build their home. The government is wasting public money on the old buildings which need maintenance periodically while other public services such as social security, transportation also need focusing on. Instead of keeping fixing the old places, the new modern buildings should be built reasonably with immense space, smart utilities and various functions. We conclude that the old and new buildings make human lives more comfortable and lively, however, it is directly affecting the surrounding environment and even the individual income.