In many countries, weddings are getting bigger and more expensive than the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

A wedding is a special occasion to celebrate the happiness of two persons with their families and friends. Spending a humungous amount of money on weddings to make them memorable is a common trend in this present time as compared to the previous time. This proliferating trend has more negatives rather than positives to society. Undoubtedly, there are significant repercussions to organize extravagant wedding parties. First of all, it has detrimental effects on the newly married couple. Since some people are not from well-off families; therefore, they may borrow enormous cash from either banks or their relatives. Eventually, they might be trapped in financial problems because they find it difficult to return the vast sums of money. Besides this, expensive marriage ceremonies, plastic goods are used overwhelmingly in the form of plates, cups and decoration materials, which are thrown after utilization. It results in causing environmental pollution as it is non-biodegradable stuff. Consequently, it is harmful not only to living organisms but also for sea animals. For example, the Environment Department of India reported, more than 80%of garbage is produced from matrimony events because of over-usage of packaged edible items in plastic bags. On the contrary, big fat weddings have a few merits to local businesses. To specify, individuals spend money lavishly to hire wedding organizers, dress designers, and caterers. For instance, Mukesh Ambani, India’s topmost vibrant businessman, has spent over 100 million dollars on his daughter’s wedding, where several domestic trades got a chance to emerge. Thus, they gained popularity by rendering fast services. To conclude, although big-budget wedding ceremonies bring adverse effects to the environment and to newlyweds itself, it has some benefits in flourishing the local trade that cannot be neglected at all.