In many countries, weddings are expensive compared to the past. What is the cause? Is it a positive development or negative development?

It is a natural phenomenon that one day, two persons in love will leave their parents' house and come together to become one. These days, wedding ceremonies are becoming more expensive unlike before. In this essay, I will discuss the reason for this high cost and its impact on our society. The reason for this trend is that people consider their wedding day as the most important day of their lives and they want to make it a very special day. Thus, they go as far as renting an expensive venue, buying expensive clothes and making it a very big event. Another reason for this is that people want to meet up with the standard that has been set by others. They want to live up to the expectation of the crowd. As a result, the cost of weddings has increased over time. This trend has caused more harm than good. Although an expensive wedding gives joy and a sense of satisfaction to the bride and groom, it has also led to a number of cons. Firstly, some persons are now scared to get married. Secondly, men wait till they have a lot of money before they consider starting a family. This has led to guys marrying at an older age when compared to before. Also, some couples go to the extent of borrowing money just for the ceremony and the start paying the money after the wedding. Thus, money for the newly wedded to plan their lives are now used to pay the debt. In summary, the wedding cost is increasingly going up because people want to make their wedding a special event. However, this has led to late marriages, wedding freight and wedding debts. If we don't make effort to change this trend, it will get to a point whereby parents will be the ones sponsoring weddings of their children.