In most of the education system, students are assessed by written examinations. Do you think it is a good idea or not? Give your reasons.

The importance of assessing students by written examination, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of judging scholar by written examination has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on the education system in the years. It can be agreed that evaluating students by written examination is a good idea. This essay will elaborate how it can weigh on a fair and regular basis and how it does not reflect students’ true abilities and thus leads us to a logical conclusion. At the outset, there are numerous reasons why students should be assessed by written examination, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that it judges the learning and writing skills of students along with true exemplification of time and stress management skills by performing in a set time frame. For instance, the written examination is proven to be the most acceptable method to weigh student’s ability worldwide as they perform under the same atmosphere and circumstance. Therefore, students should be evaluated by written examination. Nevertheless, there remain some drawbacks, which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of assessing students by written examination, but the most alarming one is rooted in the fact that it does not reflects the true abilities of students as their hard work depends on writing skill, which may be affected by any domestic problems, illnesses or stress. As an illustration, a talented student may not be able to perform up to mark in the written examination as it hinders the ability of the students due to extra mental stress and pressure. Thus, students should be evaluated by a set of different methods rather than only written examination. To conclude that although the impact of written examination is prominent, it has some drawbacks that are indeed too dire to ignore because it can sometimes hinder students’ performance and should be well handled.