In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Electronic devices such as mobile phones and tablets have taken over lives, It is stated by certain group people that they would not be able to survive without these devices. This has majorly affected the younger generation that is finding easy access to them at a very tender age. In certain parts of the world, the use of traditional sources of information like newspaper and television is steadily declining. This essay will list the two main causes of this decline and its solutions. One of the main causes for this is social media, the explosion of social media on the internet is one of the main reasons that news on other mediums is becoming redundant. For Instance, most people get their information regarding world events from applications such as Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. Moreover, these platforms allow you to quickly share the information with your peers and start a dialogue about the ongoing events. The second reason is easy access to electronic devices and lack of parental control on them. Parents today provide children with an electronic device such as a tablet or mobile phone from a young age to keep them entertained. As the child gets used to these devices it is quite hard for them to keep it away and use other sources of information. For example, The New York Times reported that 75 per cent of children around the world have some sort of electronic device that they are addicted to, provided by their parents. The access of these devices from an early age and lack of awareness about other mediums has resulted in a further decline of young people using various other mediums of news. The following solutions can be applied to tackle the above-mentioned problems. Firstly, parents should restrict the time spends on social media as well as explain it's drawbacks to their wards. This will help a young one understand and restrict their time on social media as well as build interest in other mediums of information around them. Secondly, Adults should not provide their kids with an electronic device and encourage them to read newspapers or watch television to gather information regarding world events. Since newspapers articles are formally written in comparison to their internet counterpart. This activity will improve their reading as well as increase their command of the language. In my opinion, parents are the biggest influences on their wards reading habits. If an adult restricts access to social media and encourages their young one to read a newspaper or other various sources of information. The decline of these traditional medium especially young people decrease. This activity of reading will improve a child's vocabulary and protect their eyesight.