In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?

There is an increasing concern in many country that newspapers are not read and television are not being watched by many teenagers. As a result, the younger generation are outdated as they don’t follow the local, national, international events. This essay will discuss about the causes and measures that can be taken to curb it. The major causes of the problem are that the most of electronic and printed media news are designed for an adultery audience are not presented in the format to attract the teenagers. Secondly, the language used are too difficult and content is usually quite serious. A lack of interest in reading or watching news are also caused due to the over coverage of uninterested topics such as political, crime and murder. As a result, the youngers are more fascinated to use the computers and internet for surfing and gaming rather becoming a regular news reader. Therefore, the unfashionable news format, excessive attention for adultery programs and linguistic complexities are considered crucial reasons for the low interest in traditional news. There are some strategies can be used to encourage the younger people to read the abstract of the news. The first one to have is, to publish the news headlines in the internet websites in the format which is more appealing and fashionable for teenagers. The easiest way to publish more sports and academic related news to increase their interest and viewership so they will be motivated to read the news in electronic or printed media. Another way to confront the problem is, to involve the educational institution and students to be the part of news program design and development. The news agency should allow students to write stories, articles about the trending topics and submit them for publication. The academic institution should also introduce frequent reading sessions for younger people to discuss about the current trends, sports events or whichever topic that they are more interested on. This means, the greater number of people would regularly read news stories. In conclusion, the lowest number of people reading newspaper and following news on television can be improved by changing the presentation format that are more appealing to them. The key is to utilize the website to attract the younger audience and their involvement in the publication will have a bigger impact on the readership.