In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

It is believed that the culture of reading newspapers and watching the news on the television in most nations is long gone, especially among young adults. This essay will examine two main factors causing this change in trend and propose measures to address the same. Nowadays, due to technological advancements everybody is connected via the internet either through smart phones or tablets and can be easily accessed. Moreover, every mobile contains social media platforms such as Facebook, Instagram and news applications, making it easy for the youth to access information about what’s happening around the world with a click of a button. As a result, young adults are not that interested in reading or watching the news on TV, as there are faster means to access the same information. To solve this problem, educational institutions must teach the children about the importance of reading newspapers from a very young age as they spend most of the time at school. Consequently, another reason why this is happening is their parents. In today’s modern world, they are raising their children surrounded by electronic gadgets all the time. For instance, they use their phones in front of the children to either entertain themselves or to distract the kids while feeding. One way to avoid this situation is that the parents should take conscious efforts to ensure they do things what they want their children to duplicate; it can be reading newspapers or watching the news on television in front of them and explaining its importance. In conclusion, although newspaper editors and the media industry face threats from growing technology, these problems are not insurmountable. In my view, it is the responsibility of the parents and schools to tackle this issue and they should begin by considering some of the solutions proposed above.