Some people are of the opinion that children should be rewarded for good behaviour. Others think they should be punished for bad behaviour.

Some people argue that recognition needs to be provided to children when they behave well while others say that punishment is necessary when their behavior is opposite. Although appreciation is significant to young children’s growth, I believe the deterrent effects from penalty contribute positive impact to their life. On the one hand, rewards and incentives provide multiple benefits for shaping children’s character when they behave in good attitude. Firstly, rewards mean appreciation to what they do. Not only do young children feel respect, but they also understand others agree on their actions which results in building up their self-esteem. Secondly, the outcome of recognitions motivates as well as encourages them to behave the same way again in future which is definitely a path for gaining confidence. On the other hand, punishments are effective measures to prevent children doing wrong. Obviously, if children do whatever they want without penalty, this can lead to serious impacts on themselves and others. Bullying is common in school when there is no proper penalty from teachers. What is more, imposing punishment can let them know the serious consequences for their behaviors. In a psychological study carried out in the UK showed that children are easy to commit crime after they grow up provided that no proper punishment is meted out from institution or family during childhood. In conclusion, both sides have pros and cons. Although rewards do help to develop children’s psychology growth, punishment do bring long lasting and positive influence on their life. Rules and limitations are absolutely important during youngsters’ life.