In many countries, traditional dress and costumes are considered effective ways of maintaining links with the past. How effective can traditional costumes be, in this sense? What other ways exist to help citizens connect with a country’s past?

In the recent years, history plays an important role in our lives. Although wearing traditional dress and costumes are the way to link with the past, there is a myriad of other ways exit to help people connect with their country’s past. There are several reasons why old traditional dress will help maintain links with the past. Firstly, wearing traditional dress represents the cultural rituals, beliefs, and values which passed from one generation to another generation. For example, in Vietnam, most of female students wear Ao Dai as uniform, not only shows the beauty traditional but also patriotism of them. Secondly, as wear traditional costumes, citizens can reminisce about the past and be proud of it. In order words, wearing traditional costumes will help us stand out from the crowd and show the cultural identity of each nation. However, there are some other factors to which interrelate with the past of the country. First, museums and art galleries which including heritages, paintings and messages. This can be useful for people to visualise and comprehend on how people in the past used to live. Second, the other way to keep the country's past handed down between generation, that is traditional music which illustrates the story of the life of the ancient group of people, such as how they socialize in. In addition, the traditional music has capability reminding the people about the assimilation of two or more cultures. In conclusion, Although these are many ways we can connect with the past, traditional costumes are one of the essential ways.