In many countries, traditional dress and costumes are considered effective ways of maintaining links with the past. How effective can traditional costumes be, in this sense? What other ways exist to help citizens connect with a country’s past

Undoubtedly, the rituals and the customs of wearing a dress reflects the true picture of how life was lived in the past although there are some other additional factors which facilitate the direct co-relation with the inhabitants of the country. In this essay, all the possible factors will be discussed and, given a concluding view. Firstly, wearing an old traditional dress represent the cultural rituals, beliefs and values which are passed from one generation to another generation. Secondly, it gives a true reflection of the ideology and the principles followed in the past and reminiscences of it can still be seen either in the costume or the behaviour of a person. In addition to this, certain religious events are carried out in the way it was used to be in the past whilst giving people a chance to connect with the country' s past customs and rituals. However, perhaps there can be some other factors which are inter-related with the past of the country. Firstly, Art Galleries and Museums constitute a repository of paintings, sculptures and handicrafts. This can be useful for people to visualise and comprehend on how people in the past used to live. Secondly, Art galleries leaves a direct impact on the people on how the society was and what rituals were being followed by them even in their daily routines. Overall, it seems that although conventional dress and costumes bridge the gap between netizens of the today and the past but without art museums they represent an incomplete picture of the nation' s past.