In many countries today, parents are able to choose to send their children to single-sex schools or co-educational schools. Some people think that children going to single-sex schools have disadvantages later in life.

Many divergent views exist on the relevance of educating children in a co-education school. A great number of people, including myself, are of the opinion that children will face many obstacles later in their life if their parents continue to send their children into single-sex schools. In this essay, I will provide the rationale for my viewpoint on the matter. The Primary effect on restricting children to only attend single-sex schools is that they will not able to acquire important interpersonal skills to interact with another gender. It goes without saying that when both girls and boys graduate from a university or school, they will be working in their corresponding field of study with another gender. The earlier they know how to behave with another gender, the more they will be able to coordinate and feel comfortable with each other later in their life. My friend, Tina, is a shining example of this. Tina, who was not allowed to communicate with male students during the high-school years because of her family tradition, faced many difficulties in academic life during her tertiary education. Before she knew it, she found very difficult to interact with boys for help in assignments and projects compared to average students. Not only do children improve their soft skills, but it also hinders the opportunity to create a social bond with another gender. Many boys develop a good relationship with girls during their school years, and this allows them to understand another gender’s personality, feelings, and thoughts, vice versa. By restricting this formation at the early age of their life will create problems in their life when they need to know about another gender for their marriage life. Unsurprisingly, a 2007 study conducted by a team of researchers at the University of Toronto found that those students who had mixed-gender classrooms during their education period have a 90% less divorce rate compared to those students who only had education with similar gender. This is because they are able to understand each other’s opinions, likes, and dislikes. To sum up, I hold to the opinion that there are many negative points of sending children to the same sex-school. It is my sincere wish that parents should be more open-minded and they should send their children to mix gender schools where their children can acquire many necessary skills that help them in their future.