In many countries today insufficient respect is shown to older people. What do you think may be the reasons for this? What problems might this cause in society?

Nowadays, it has been observed that the respect being bestowed to elderly people is gradually declining. Surely, and the technologies are the reasons for this trend and the way it affects the society cannot be neglected. Firstly, the irreverent attitude towards the elders is due to the inadequate time of parents to teach their children about morality. For instance, single parents have to work hardly and have no choice but to leave their offspring in the care of anyone who they think can accompany their children. On top of this, young generations are more occupied with materialistic possessions and are pampered by parents to which they are given so much freedom, unlike in the ancient times that all work were done using bare hands and children had to lend a hand. Since parents are unable to teach the kids the value of respecting others and find it unnecessary to show proper respect to elder people. As a result, faiilure to teach succeeding generations about mutual respect and family values will certainly invade and stain the harmonious life in the society. In addition, the demographic changes on the advancement of science and technology is greying the society as a whole. The greater exposure and dependence of the youth to technologies severs the relationship between families and deviates their time to study history and culture. To recapitulate, we are living in a society where senior citizens are big contributors, thus must be shown admirable respect and gratitude. Parents should, no matter what, continue to educate kids to respect old people and should also regulate the usage of technology at home to alleviate factors that put distance between families. These will help to achieve a harmonious society.