People work hard to buy more things in life. This has made our life more comfortable but it is pity that many traditional values have been lost on the way to such materialism.

In Today's world status of a person is judged by the car he drives, the branded clothes he wears, branded phone he owns, the posh place he stays in and so on. It has become an endless battle which never going to stop because there is no end to it. In order to appear cooler in front of other people and to achieve more and more comfort people have become more and more materialistic and money minded. They have lost their traditional values with this mind shift. It has gone so deep into the value system of present generation that it has become very difficult to understand the value of people and relationships. The desire to rise in their career which is considered good have bound people to leave their cities, even their countries to move and settle in different developed cities and countries. People sometimes leave their families, values and beliefs. They do that so that they can enjoy the comfortable lifestyle and afford homes in posh cities, buy luxurious brands. This is good as long as they lead a balanced life and don't let materialism corrupt their mindset. However, it has been seen that people who get used to the luxurious lifestyle may often leave their families, especially their old parents alone who took care of them during childhood. For them, a relationship doesn't hold much importance but money and materialism do. They get fascinated and value people who are leading the lifestyle they admire rather than respecting and loving their loved ones. This not only shows people in the modern world have become self-centered and selfish but also show how hollow can one person’s thought process be. They never realise even after spending lots and lots of money in the rat race of comfort and materialism they are still unhappy and lonely from deep inside. Even worse, in some cases, they have lost the love of their loved ones whom they left alone. I believe people need to be ambitious but they should not forget to remain grounded. Because if you are grounded you can still enjoy the comfortable life you always wanted to lead but you end up valuing the relationship and traditional values more than materialism which has not substance/life. [ Written by - Indis ]