In many countries today insufficient respect is shown to older people. What do you think may be the reasons for this? What problems might this cause in society?

There is no doubt that social status and respect play an important role in people’s life. However, in some areas nowadays citizens have a lack of respect to seniors. Personally, I think that this behaviour has some underlying reasons and it can lead to several serious problems in society, so I will explore these aspects in the following essay. Firstly, the technical development can be one of the main reasons. In fact, children are mad about new computers and mobile phones, so they use it almost everywhere. They spend their free time chatting with friends and reading articles from unreliable sources. Consequently, these kids are sure that they know everything and it is unnecessary to listen to an unsolisited advice from old people. The second problem occurs in families when parents do not pay much attention on their kids. Basically, without strong bounds between parents and children it is impossible to bring up a noble and a reasonable person. As a result, such people take bad habits and bad ways of behaviour that transform into lack of respect. After a while these reasons lead to social problems. The first problem can be defined as a gap between young generations and old people. It means that for inhabitants it would be much harder to communicate and interact, because individuals would have different views and beliefs. Therefore, teenagers wouldn’t give a sit in the public transport for others, which is a common situation in my city. The other problem relates to the health of seniors. It is undeniable that good and friendly environment makes people feel better, so without help, support and respect from the side life expectancy will significantly reduce. To draw the conclusion, I am sure that some contemporary reasons contribute to this problem, which later lead to social problems, that I described in my essay.