In many countries today, crime novels and TV crimes are becoming more and more popular. • Why do you think these books and TV shows are more popular? • What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Many countries these days are seeing high popularity for crime novels and TV crime dramas. This popularity does suggest the social mentality prevailing in our society. One of the reasons for such high viewership and demand for the crime novels or TV content is because of the relevance to the real society. Most novels and TV shows today try to replicate the most real incidents and crimes that are either almost real or are based on the true events. This in a way is informative and helpful as we get to understand the harsh realities in our society. However, there is the dark side to these shows being popular as well. Firstly, there are very few laws that clearly define what content is acceptable to be consumed by which age group. For example, adult crime thriller being telecast on TV, even after being censored, might impact negatively on children. Secondly, laws are either not very stringent or barely followed by the producers of such shows. This basically means young and teen minds being exposed to adult, violent and graphic content which is inappropriate for their knowledge. My opinion on this matter is very clear. TV crime dramas or novels should have strict censorship and viewership laws and have the target audience pre-set so that irrelevant and violent content does not impact the though process and upbringing of the new generation. This can be done by ensuring that any crime TV drama is telecast only after the late-prime time hours and that too with censored content. Crime novels should only be allowed to be sold to adults of legal age. Awareness campaigns can also be carried out at school level which can help understand the children regarding the type of content they consume. To conclude, it is very important for parents and adult to know and regulate the kind of information their kids are provided.