Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Several convicted criminals are inclined to repeat their misdeeds after finishing their sentence period. Although some causes bring about this phenomenon, the current problem could be addressed by two main remedies. The willingness of offenders to repeat their previous wrongdoings appears to stem from two main reasons. First off, numerous individuals do not possess a suitable job to earn their livelihood after their punishment, and because of their prison experience, the employers cannot be convinced to hire them. As a result, it leaves no options unless recommitting the crime. Furthermore, the laws of punishment might not be enforced seriously, or they are not deterrent enough to prevent criminals from re-offending crimes. For instance, in ROMANIA, if a thief steals some products which cost under 500 euros, he will not be punished by police. Therefore, he would not take this kind of punishment seriously and repeat stealing easily. Turning to the possible solutions, second to none, the authorities should establish some organizations to follow and support the criminals during and after their sentencing, meaning that to incorporate beneficial rehabilitation courses while they are in prison, these range from training some professional skills to make them ready for entering the society to conducting some consultation sessions to improve criminals’ mentality. Consequently, after this period, these organizations should assure economic and social situation of offenders, it means that in case of any issues, accomplish some actions such as accumulating money for them from charities or finding a job. Otherwise, they will again be misled for making money. Moreover, some strict sentencing should be employed by governments to discourage individuals from committing crimes. The example can be seen in Arab countries that in any case of rubbery, no matter what it is, the offenders must pay a huge amount of money. Spontaneously, no one even thinks of breaking the law in these countries. To conclude, admittedly, two underlying factors such as lacking occupations or improper methods of punishments may lead individuals to repeatedly commit a crime. Nevertheless, by enforcement of some serious rules of sentencing and economically and socially supporting criminals, this problem could be properly addressed.