nowadays people try to use social media to keep up with news. why do they do this? positive or negative trend?

By worldwide access to the internet, the ways of communication and getting the news has differed significantly. There are some important factors which lead to this change and I believe the positive effects of this phenomenon is considerable. In recent era everybody has access to a phone or computer and the news easily pops up in front of their eyes. Meanwhile, the new technologies have made people interested in convenience and speed more and more and it is really easy for them to follow the news in their phones rather than newspaper. Surfing on the internet, people not only keep themselves up to date, but also have access to recent events as soon as possible. For instance, the news of the election of the US president can be followed as fast as possible, everywhere in the world on Tweeter or other social media. The positive effect of following news on social media rather than traditional ways cannot be ignored. While these communication ways are easily accessible for the writer and reader, there will be no news that can be restricted by the politicians or governments. As a result, even ordinary individual can generate and follow all kinds of information without being censored. As an example, even a simple woman can be heard in social media if she is suffering from abuse and people will notice and react to her. In conclusion, the majority of the society prefer to be informed about recent events by means of social media because it is faster and more convenient. While this trend brings about more freedom and speed in comparison to other ways, I consider it a complete success.