Some people believe that countries should produce food to feed their population and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by many folks that providing food and edible goods to the citizens of a country is a responsibility of the local government. In this essay, we agree that making the access of the food and ingredients easy to the residents of a country must be the priority of the legislative bodies and must act to reduce the import of goods as much as possible through proper regulations. How countries grow financially and how crucial it is to avoid imports of goods to minimum extent? If people have enough food to eat in the country and the government does not need to import eatable products, then people will be able to buy the domestic products at a reasonable cost. When countries buy products from other states, then those products become expensive in the local market and that impact the buying power of the citizens of the country that is importing the food material. It is possible that the quality of the imported products might not be of the same standard than the products that can be produced in one’s homeland. Also, there might be some restrictions to store and secure the imported material. The government must put quality control checks to ensure the authenticity of the products that are being imported from other countries. It is the duty of the custom department to put strict restrictions on the imported products and reduce the mobility of the current imported items. To conclude, we can say that it is one of the vital responsibilities of the rulers of a country to grow and provide food to their citizens without importing it from other countries. It will allow the locals to buy food products at a reasonable cost and in a fresh condition.