In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Nowadays crime related stories and TV shows are observed to be popular among people of various nations. The possible reason for the up rise in popularity of such novels and dramas could be due to increased interest in prevalent crimes. Although this could be true for certain age groups such as young adolescents and adults, I believe that such shows are not preferred by young children. The thriller fictions and shows are boosting with interest by many adult viewers and readers. Majority of adolescents and adults are aware of the rise in crimes through multiple forms of media such as television and newspaper. This has resulted in growing curiosity and fascination with such types of novels and TV shows. For instance, the rise in offenses such as murders, rapes in India has been reported to be associated with expanding proportion of both viewers and readers watching and reading crime dramas. On the other hand, thriller novels and videos are thought to be unpopular among children. Children are at a stage of both cognitive and emotional development and the exposure to crime-related materials could hamper their immature mind with disastrous consequences in their perception and behavior. For example, in United States of America, the viewing of TV shows "How To Get Away With Murder" "13 Reasons Why" has been linked with rise in frequency of psychiatric manifestations in children. I believe such shows are less likable among children because it an result in different emotional and behavioral alterations such as fearfulness, aggressive behavior. In conclusion, thriller shows are more commonly liked by teenagers and adults with both interest and awareness in ongoing crimes. However, such interest in these shows do not extend to young children due to hazardous effect in their mental development.