Nowadays children watch a lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that these activities are not good for a child's mental health.

The modern childhood is far more complex and entertaining that the ones preceding our era, which has brought forward arguments whether children benefit from or are mentally recessing. I believe TV shows and video games evolve a child's mental abilities, nevertheless at some level disturbing animations of these gadgets certainly disrupt mental-health balance. Contemporary movies, TV programs and animated games have upgraded children's agility and reflexes. The younger generation has become faster problem-solver than in the past. I believe such entertainments have brought their stake in such rapid development we are living currently. To illustrate, a child who has been playing video games entailing difficult riddle solution, activates the logical part in the brain responsible for such tasks, thus contributing in much easier and faster mathematical problem solutions at school. The latter phenomenon ensures smart and qualified future scholars, who build up our scientific progress. Contrary to being advantageous to once's cognitive functions, various video games or shows may harm a minor's mental balance. Such programs or plays include horrifying animations accompanied with adequately frightening music. These may sit far behind the subconscious of an emotionally undeveloped person and infest him/her self-portrait in the future. A good example to the latter statement is in fact the mass shootings in the USA, where children under 18 start punishing their classmates by replicating their video-game acts. This way they fill themselves heroes, since they fill the same about the ones in the animated plays. This is the extent of I concur with the idea that video games and TV shows are disadvantageous for the underages' mental wellbeing. To conclude, I believe entertaining programs, available on screens or play consoles, do benefit a child at a certain level. Nevertheless, parents need to be cautious what type of movies or virtual games their children are watching or playing, since disturbing ones are widespread and distorting for a child's mental stability.