In many countries there has been growing demand over the last few years for government action to protect the environment and combat climate change. Governments argue that the costs would be too high and it would hurt the economy, which most people do not want. How can the government protect the environment while creating revenues for the nation? Do you agree that most people would rather have a strong economy than a healthy environment?

Environmental conservation is costly; it requires heavy investment in alternative energy sources and limits on industry, which, in turn, may lead to many job losses and a potentially stagnant economy. There are several ways, however, to help preserve fragile ecosystems while still generating revenues. Nevertheless, I would disagree that, at present, most people are willing to sacrifice their personal financial security to achieve this. In terms of safeguarding the environment, governments have a variety of cost-efficient options. Firstly, they could increase taxes on all petroleum-based products such as gas and plastics. This would, theoretically, discourage the population from consuming these items, thereby reducing their carbon footprint. Meanwhile, those who continue to buy these products will in effect be contributing to government revenues. An alternative option would be to invest in a renewable energy infrastructure, with things such as electric filling stations and solar panel factories. This would not only create jobs, but would incentivize consumers to spend more wisely. In the long run, governments would continue to collect tax revenues and simultaneously protect the environment. The above suggestions, however, depend heavily on a willing and cooperative populace. Unfortunately, history has shown that once people are personally affected by government policy, especially when it affects their finances, they become less supportive of the moves in question. Moreover, when a person has to provide for his family, any immediate threat to that provision outweighs any long-term considerations. As such, to effectively combat climate change, governments will have to look at corporations and other organizations to take a leading role, especially when it comes to shouldering the costs. In conclusion, the battle to protect the environment is not hopeless. Governments can and should act, though they should not rely too greatly on individuals but rather on those sectors of society that can afford to take action.